I’m dating my remote control.

We have a love, hate relationship.

It shows me things I don’t really want to see and sometimes it surprises me with something on TMC, but for the most part we are never really in accordance.

I clogged the toilet but failed to unclog it, then proceeded to curse at it. I treat most things like a nuisance, including myself.

I know I must sound like something morbid or attention seeking, but I’m not. Then again you don’t really know me so my account of my own behavior is bias. I don’t think I’m some dilution of Angelina Jolie in Girl Interrupted or the facsimile of Marla Singer. That seems to be a rather popular stereotype. I guess I understand the allure of being misunderstood and alienated. However, having actually been admitted into a psych ward it’s really not all that dazzling. If anything I wish I could be akin to Doris Day or Audrey Hepburn. I want more than anything to experience life the way everyone else does, now how exactly do I think others perceive life? In a somewhat more positive ray of light than I do. I’d like to be able to take a walk and not think someone is following me or going to attack me from behind (this is a legitimate concern).

I feel like I’m just here. Just being. I’m sure I am not the only one.


3 thoughts on “I’m dating my remote control.

  1. But no two people experience anything the same way, even when raised side by side. I have a favorite quote with an unknown author:
    “Why are you trying so hard to fit in when you were born to stand out?”
    You are one motherfucking talented writer. Run with it, girl.

  2. As someone who got treated like a freak for most of my early life let me say I think you should cultivate the aspects of your personality that are not “normal”. To me the word “normal” is an insult.

Leave a Reply

