-3.50

I have an interview coming up for an Optician’s assistant. Currently, I work at a toy store and I’ve been a Sales Associate for a year now (fancy way of saying sales lady). Now why would anyone want to leave such a wonderful place? I work almost forty hours a week and spend more time around children and tin space men than I do anywhere else. The pay is not that great either, I put up with a lot of bullshit for minimal pay. I know I know, I’m twenty what makes me think I should get paid more? When you work for someone that hates toys and is eager to make a profit on anything, it’s very difficult to look past that sort of selfishness and greed. The store itself is wonderful, the gold tin ceiling and crimson red walls create a nostalgia that is hard to come by these days. However, I have rent to pay and cats to feed, so I must try my very best to resemble a grown up and sit behind some desk, answering questions about lenses, insurance, frames, etc.

I will miss some of my customers, but most of all I will miss Pipa. Dozens upon dozens of children walk through the store each and everyday. You forget most of them, but others you consider kidnapping. Pipa is one of the children I contemplated taking home with me. According to her sister Lola, who is eight and three quarters years old, Pipa is Three and a half years old. She is as tall as any other three year old girl, but she is much more quiet than any child that has pranced around the store. Pipa and I have a lot in common, we both love kitties, her favorite color is green, she just wants to play, and dolls are simply the cats pajamas. She only likes school a little bit and napping is her favorite. This information was not easy to attain. Technically I’m a “big kid” to kids like Pipa and she had to make sure I was approachable and one of her kind. I know that’s a weird description but observing children for so long at the store you come to discover these little quirks about kids. Pipa’s piercing blue eyes are what made me interact with her. She just looked at me as though she knew all the secrets in world and everything made complete and utter sense. Her light hair partially covered her eyes but she constantly swept them to the side to examine each and every toy.

“You have a lovely purse!”, complete silence and a look of bewilderment crossed her face. I realized she had big kid syndrome and continued to talk kid stuff with her. “That kitty you picked out is very cute..” more silence followed as well as a subtle twitch. I continued to ask her questions and show her toys I think she’d like. As I played with some of the dolls I asked her what her name was, and she finally spoke. “Pipa! Pipa is my name!”, I was shocked. I continued to ask more about her and that is when her sister Lola chimed in and revealed each of their ages and favorite toys. Those are the moments I will miss the most; the perceptions of children, but I suppose I must try to land this job and inform Mr. Davis (my imaginary client) when to pick up his lenses; enabling him to see the world a little more clearly.

One thought on “-3.50

  1. I know the feeling, teaching children was so moving for me. The beautiful faces, and the pearls that fell from their tongues ….Dang! brings tears to my eyes even now. This is simply a very beautiful post.

    Jaco

Leave a Reply

